top of page

MTS Cabaret

9:15


The Musical Theatre Society had their Fall Broadway Cabaret at Swope Recital Hall November 5th at 8:00 pm. The minimum donations to attend were $5 for students and $7 for the general public. Before attending this event I did not know what a cabaret was but I was excited to see what it entailed.


I got to the Cabaret at 9:15 during the second act. The first performance I saw was Luck Be a Lady from Guys and Dolls featuring Dylan Al-Kadi and male ensemble. Unfortunately when Dylan came to sing it sounded like there was a problem with his mic so you could barely hear him but as they say in the theatre, “the show must go on”.


The other acts I saw were Take a Chance on Me , Strangers Like Me, New York,New York, I Got Rhythm, You’ll Be Back and Sexy. My favorite performance was the show closer, Sexy, from Mean Girl starring Ruth Bergquist, Talia Rheal, and the female ensemble. This was my favorite performance because all the girls dressed up in funny halloween costumes and the song was really clever and made the whole audience laugh.


In total the whole cabaret had 19 different performances from the most famous broadway shows in history such as Waitress, Rent, Dear Evan Hansen, The Addams Family, and The Phantom of the Opera. Overall, I had a wonderful experience and it inspired my boyfriend and I to attend more shows in the future. I was in awe of some of these performers raw talent and how they were so comfortable on stage.


At the end of the Cabaret the whole cast came to the floor and bowed in front of the cheering crowd. The director of the Cabaret then came to the floor and asked the 2020 seniors that never had the chance to have their last performance, to raise their hand or come to the stage and bow with them. A girl ran to the floor and bowed with the crowd meanwhile she cried.



Luck Be a Lady featuring Dylan Al-Kadi and male ensemble

New York, New York featuring Gianni Emricko, Aaron Swoger, and Jeremy Magnetti

I Got Rhythm featuring Brandon Pierce, Antonio Ambrogio, and ensemble


You'll Be Back featuring Gordon Hardy


Sexy featuring Ruth Bergquist, Talia Rheal, and female ensemble







Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Let me know what's on your mind

Thanks for submitting!

© 2023 by Turning Heads. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page